• Sign Up! To view all forums and unlock additional cool features

    Welcome to the #1 KIA Telluride Forum and KIA Telluride community dedicated to KIA Telluride owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the KIA Telluride Forum today!

Kia Telluride ADM Dealers a.k.a "Bad Kia Dealers List"

Nesenrik

New Member
Messages
1
Likes
0
Location
Huntsville, AL, USA
University Kia in Huntsville, AL charged $55k for our AWD SX Prestige with a tow package. It is Ebony Black, like we wanted, but it has a Dune Brown interior that we did not want and no splash guards or side steps. The MSRP was $48. I can't give exact numbers because they took the window sticker off before we bought the car. I only saw it during a downpour while the car was being unloaded. We asked for the window sticker and were told it was with our paperwork. When we called and said it wasn't there, they said it must have been thrown away while cleaning the car. We got a $400 military discount and a $1000 discount for financing with Kia. We were told that was the maximum discount for financing a Telluride. I intended to walk out without buying, but my wife was almost begging to buy it, so we paid the ransome. Had we added the splash guards and side steps, the price would have been $4000 higher because of shipping and installation charges. Now we are shopping for all of the accessories we wanted and didn't get.
Our Telluride seems to be a great car, but I'll never love it. It is tainted.
 

Titanrx8

New Member
Messages
12
Likes
8
Location
Orlando, FL, USA
University Kia in Huntsville, AL charged $55k for our AWD SX Prestige with a tow package. It is Ebony Black, like we wanted, but it has a Dune Brown interior that we did not want and no splash guards or side steps. The MSRP was $48. I can't give exact numbers because they took the window sticker off before we bought the car. I only saw it during a downpour while the car was being unloaded. We asked for the window sticker and were told it was with our paperwork. When we called and said it wasn't there, they said it must have been thrown away while cleaning the car. We got a $400 military discount and a $1000 discount for financing with Kia. We were told that was the maximum discount for financing a Telluride. I intended to walk out without buying, but my wife was almost begging to buy it, so we paid the ransome. Had we added the splash guards and side steps, the price would have been $4000 higher because of shipping and installation charges. Now we are shopping for all of the accessories we wanted and didn't get.
Our Telluride seems to be a great car, but I'll never love it. It is tainted.
Your Kia dealer broke the law by not providing you with the Monroney sticker. You should file a complaint with your state's department of consumer affairs. Even if it was already removed from the window they're supposed to give it to you.
 
Messages
1
Likes
1
Location
Lawrence, KS, USA
Lawrence, KS Kia dealer is selling for $5000 over MSRP. I'm looking elsewhere and maybe for a different manufacturer. Toyoto and Subaru would love to have my business. Not my fault that Kia can't keep up with demand.
 

SaludaSC

New Member
Messages
1
Likes
0
Location
Lexington, SC, USA
KIA of Wesley Chapel, FL. Initially quoted the sticker of $48,815.00 but in the final quote they emailed me they said "Market Value Selling Price: $53,807.00. Its for a Snow White Pearl SX with Prestige Package, grey interior.

5XYP5DHC7LG087545
 

Attachments

Titanrx8

New Member
Messages
12
Likes
8
Location
Orlando, FL, USA
KIA of Wesley Chapel, FL. Initially quoted the sticker of $48,815.00 but in the final quote they emailed me they said "Market Value Selling Price: $53,807.00. Its for a Snow White Pearl SX with Prestige Package, grey interior.

5XYP5DHC7LG087545
All of the central Florida Kia dealers I have contacted have either market adjustment add-ons or inflated charges for invisible magic paint and fabric treatments or dealer fees or all of the above. To make matters worse, they report to TruCar and Consumer Reports that they are discounting from MSRP but then add fees far greater than the discounts. They come out looking like bargains on TruCar and drive up traffic to their dealerships but are unscrupulous and ripping people off.

My friend just bought an SX and financed through Kia. While the invoice showed a reasonable discount, he paid $2700 over MSRP plus the fees and taxes which were all rolled into the loan. He didn't even notice that he financed $2700 more than the invoice.

I have pretty much given up on the Kia dealers and am ready to buy Mazda or Subaru. At least those dealers are fighting one another for the business and are willing to negotiate every line item. The Kia dealers are just smug that someone else will buy the Telluride even if it's overpriced. That will come to an end just like it did for Toyota and Honda dealers long ago.
 
Messages
7
Likes
2
Location
Fairfax Station, VA, USA
Ourisman Kia Chantilly. $10k market upcharge for SXP
Just got off the phone with Ourisman Kia in Chantilly, VA (near the Dulles Airport outside Washington DC): https://www.ourismankia.com/ The Kia Telluride SXP (any color) was quoted at $59,971, including a market adjustment (she didn't specify how much), an "ownershield" package that included coverage of the interior for 5 yrs, unlimited miles, an appearance package (tinted windows); and then taxes, title and fees were on top of the $59K. Floored. I shouldn't have been, I didn't look at this thread for Ourisman, but this is apparently up their alley. The Sales rep was very kind and still took my email with a note that when prices come down to MSRP to contact me. I had a very thorough discussion with her about how despite my knowledge that dealers were marking up the Telluride, it was short sighted. She claimed Ourisman was family owned and into building relationships, to which I responded that this money grab of a markup (though it's technically demand driven) is the opposite of a family-owned, relationship-building business. I asked her to pass to the manager (we'll see if that happens, she said my sentiments were certainly not the first time she's heard it) that with all the research and excitement I had about the Telluride, the markup was NOT the way to build a customer relationship. My other cars I've had over a decade; I've certainly spent $10K+ over the years on maintenance and then repeat brand loyalty - but a dealer markup like that leaves a stain, and it tells me that the one-time "market adjustment" is their prime focus, not 10-15 years of maintenance income and repeat business. That bad taste is something I intend to be vocal about to other customers, and on forums like this. She acknowledged the reality and remained very polite, which is sad, because her dealership is staining her wonderful customer service. It's too bad, their location, size, and convenience was something I was looking forward to as a new customer. Now I doubt I'll ever consider or recommend them to anyone I know.
 

Mavrx

New Member
Messages
4
Likes
0
Location
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Quick Kia, Braintree, MA: +$10k over MSRP for Telluride SX with Prestige & Tow Package. $58,110 No deposits accepted. First come, first served.
are they really not making more or is that just to scare you into buying?

also, Stevens Creek Kia in Northern California has $6k markup
 

Mavrx

New Member
Messages
4
Likes
0
Location
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Just called Kia of Cerritos because their website had msrp pricing and even had a window sticker pdf with msrp price. But when I called them they asked for $47k on a black EX FWD... i knew they were on this list but had hope because of the online prices
 

shallquist

New Member
Messages
1
Likes
0
Location
Ashburn, VA, USA
Response from dealer on an EX with a $39K KIA MSRP:

Thank you for your request for information on the 2020 Kia Telluride . My name is Ashlee, and I am the Internet Manager here at Ourisman Chantilly Kia. Below you will find your Exclusive E-price, while supplies last!


2020 Kia Telluride EX
Color:Gravity Gray


Stock # K14242



Internet Price:$51,820
2020 Kia Telluride Standard Financing Rebate:$1,000
Ourisman Price: $50,820
Ourisman Appreciation: $500
Military Rebate: $400
Contingent Pricing: $49,920
 

cdt930

New Member
Messages
2
Likes
0
Location
Atlanta, GA, USA
Is anybody finding Tellurides for close to MSRP? I just bought a Telluride S for $5k over MSRP and got a little more on the trade-in, but that was the lowest markup I could find.

Now wondering if I missed out on dealerships with no markup in the Atlanta, GA area or by buying through Costco.
 

cdt930

New Member
Messages
2
Likes
0
Location
Atlanta, GA, USA
Is anybody finding Tellurides for close to MSRP? I just bought a Telluride S for $5k over MSRP and got a little more on the trade-in, but that was the lowest markup I could find.

Now wondering if I missed out on dealerships with no markup in the Atlanta, GA area or by buying through Costco.
 

Cbertels

New Member
Messages
2
Likes
1
Location
Florida
All of central Florida should be on the naughty list. Daytona has an SXP stickered at $65k- a roughly $15k markup. If you’re in Florida, I’d suggest a trip to Friendly Kia in New Port Richey. No markups above MSRP.
 

Deleter

New Member
Messages
4
Likes
1
Location
Fairfax, VA, USA
My "Bad Kia Dealers List" -

Koons Kia of Woodbridge (Woodbridge, VA).......do not even consider them. TRUST ME. My July 2020 interactions were with Christian Punlay (Product Specialist), & Jay Madrigal (Sales Manager). It was bad. Resulted in me sending complaints to Kia Motors corporate, Better Business Bureau, & a Google review. Disgusting dealership.

Ourisman Chantilly Kia (Chantilly, VA) Chris Bell, General Sales Manager, quoted me approx $8,800 over MSRP to order a Telluride. Oh sure, order me two!

Kia dealerships in Northern Virginia & surrounding areas of Maryland & Delaware, have addendums to their window stickers indicating “Market Adjustment” of $5,000+ for Tellurides on their lots. It will continue as long as consumers pay it. Crazy.
 

Deleter

New Member
Messages
4
Likes
1
Location
Fairfax, VA, USA
Response from dealer on an EX with a $39K KIA MSRP:

Thank you for your request for information on the 2020 Kia Telluride . My name is Ashlee, and I am the Internet Manager here at Ourisman Chantilly Kia. Below you will find your Exclusive E-price, while supplies last!


2020 Kia Telluride EX
Color:Gravity Gray


Stock # K14242



Internet Price:$51,820
2020 Kia Telluride Standard Financing Rebate:$1,000
Ourisman Price: $50,820
Ourisman Appreciation: $500
Military Rebate: $400
Contingent Pricing: $49,920

Ourisman is nuts, like many others. Folks pay it, though. "Not I" quacked the duck. On Sep 23 I ordered a 2021 SX @ $1,000 below MSRP from Superior Kia in Cincinnati. I'll happily fly there & drive the vehicle back when it arrives. My local experience.....

Koons Kia of Woodbridge (Woodbridge, VA).......do not even consider them. TRUST ME. My July 2020 interactions were with Christian Punlay (Product Specialist), & Jay Madrigal (Sales Manager). It was bad. Resulted in me sending complaints to Kia Motors corporate, Better Business Bureau, & a Google review. Disgusting dealership.

Ourisman Chantilly Kia (Chantilly, VA) Chris Bell, General Sales Manager, quoted me approx $8,800 over MSRP to order a Telluride. Oh sure, order me two!

Kia dealerships in Northern Virginia & surrounding areas of Maryland & Delaware, have addendums to their window stickers indicating “Market Adjustment” of $5,000+ for Tellurides on their lots. It will continue as long as consumers pay it. Crazy.
 

DeeDubya

New Member
Messages
6
Likes
0
Location
Bozeman, MT
Rimrock Kia in Billings, MT verbally told me $15k over MSRP for the SX but I could "negotiate" to try and get it for less. No thanks.
 

ray337

New Member
Messages
7
Likes
0
Location
Tampa, FL
KIA of Wesley Chapel, FL. Initially quoted the sticker of $48,815.00 but in the final quote they emailed me they said "Market Value Selling Price: $53,807.00. Its for a Snow White Pearl SX with Prestige Package, grey interior.

5XYP5DHC7LG087545
They are still marking up the Tellurides at this location. I was there a few days cause I saw on their website a Dark Moss SX, Prestige, Night fall for 50k. Just to find out later when I arrived that it had a "market adjustment" of 5k totaling 55k. I was so mad...Last weekend I placed an order (price at MSRP 50k ) for the same specs vehicle at another dealer within 30 miles. I have to wait until December but I don't mind...well worth the wait.
 

Targe34

New Member
Messages
1
Likes
0
Location
Orlando, FL, USA
Had a bad experience with Port Richie "Friendly" Kia trying to markup with dealer fee and some bullshit protection package $1895. I talked to Don Mullis who seemed a little put out that I was even asking about the protection plan. "Well everyone else is charging that". I won't be buying from them, sorry.
 


Top